Video Broadcasting

The Director can make audio/video broadcasts to people who are logged into the session. There are two types of broadcasts:

  • Video announcement is a simple mechanism for the director to broadcast audio and video either to everyone who is logged in or just to people in the lobby. This is intended for short announcements by a single person.
  • Group broadcast allows several people to broadcast audio and video simultaneously. Other features enable directors to share their screen and talk with up to 3 more players during the broadcast. This feature is especially useful for teaching, long announcements with several broadcasters, group discussions of hands, presentations, prize ceremonies, etc.

In the explanations below, we use these terms: 

  • Broadcaster: The person who started the broadcast, who controls what is being broadcast. The broadcaster is seen and heard by everyone. 
  • Video participant: Someone who has been added to the video broadcast by the broadcaster. A video participant is seen and heard by everyone. 
  • Viewer: Anyone else who is logged into the session. A viewer can see and hear the broadcaster and the video participants. 

Video Announcement

To make a video broadcast to everyone logged into a session, go to Advanced, then navigate to the second page. From here, there are options to broadcast to all players (both at tables and in the lobby), or only those in the lobby.

During this time, all video and audio between players stop, and card play is paused. As a broadcaster, it is important to wait until the Please Wait message disappears before speaking, otherwise some players will not receive your full message.

 

 

 

Group Broadcast

Group broadcasts allow multi-user audio-video broadcasts and screen-sharing. It can be used for teaching, announcements, introducing sponsors, presenting winners, discussions of interesting hands, etc. 

When a Group Broadcast starts, the video of the teacher/director is broadcast to everyone in the session (at the tables or in the lobby). 

During the call, the broadcaster can: 

  • Share content. Any window, screen, or browser tab can be shared (including PowerPoint presentations and PDF files). 
  • Add other people to the broadcast, so that their conversation is broadcast to everyone else. People can be added and removed throughout the call. Up to four videos can be broadcast at any time. 

The viewers can: 

  • Send public text chat to everyone. 
  • Send a private chat to the broadcaster. 
  • Raise their hand, for example, to say that they want to ask a question, or for voting. 

This is the first of a series of major new features that we are putting in place. Expect to see more in the next few months. 

Initiating a Group Broadcast

Click Advanced, then the > button, then under Broadcast video click Group 

 

 

What the broadcaster sees 

The broadcaster sees this, with their own video at the top right: 

 

They also see a notification of the total number of people connected to the call (viewers and video participants), and the last person to have joined it. 

 

 

What the viewers see 

The viewers initially see this message: 

 

A few seconds later they will see a new screen, with the broadcaster at the top right. There are Additional buttons in the bottom right corner and a redial button under Scores. 

Adding/removing video participants

To add videos of up to 3 people to the broadcast, choose their name, and click Add video.

The list lets you select any viewer who has enabled their camera and microphone.

The video participants appear in the top right of the screen, next to the broadcaster.

To remove someone’s video, click this symbol in the corner of their video:

They now revert to being a viewer.

Sharing windows and desktop

The broadcaster can share what they have on their screen, in the same way as in a video conferencing system. Note that this functionality varies slightly based on which web browser you are using. The screenshots below are for Chrome and Edge. Mac users should click here for information on how to ensure your computer is ready to share screen.

To start sharing, click Share at the top of the window.

You can share an entire screen, a window, or a tab from your web browser.

Chrome Edge

This feature can be used to share any application that is running on your computer or any web page. The main use is for teaching or group discussions of hands. It may also be used by clubs and TDs to explain something to the players using pre-prepared images and text.

You can use screen-sharing in conjunction with video participants. This allows you to broadcast a group discussion of the content that you are sharing, or to invite a viewer to ask a question that will be broadcast to everyone.

Here, the broadcaster has shared a PowerPoint presentation.

Note: When you start sharing, you will see a dialog like this:

We recommend that you keep this open – don’t press the Hide button. You can move it away from the content that you are sharing.

To stop sharing or to change what you are sharing, click the Stop Sharing button provided by the web browser. If you shared a window or a browser tab, you can also stop the sharing by closing the window or tab.

Using Other Browsers

Firefox

If you are using Firefox, you can share a window or a screen in the same way as with Chrome or Edge.

You can’t share a Firefox tab from the same window as your RealBridge session. To share a Firefox tab, drag it away to create a new Firefox window. You can then share that window from your RealBridge session.

Safari

If you are using Safari on a Mac, at present you can share your desktop, but you can’t share an application window or a browser tab. Because of this, we recommend using Chrome rather than Safari.

Communicating as a viewer

Each viewer has buttons to:

  • Send chat (everyone will see it).
  • Send a Private chat to the broadcaster.

Raise their hand, via the Raise hand button (for example to vote for a bid or lead, or to ask to become a video participant). When they click Raise hand, a message appears in the chat: